Gibraltar Regulatory Authority – Online Casino License

Gibraltar Regulatory Authority (GRA) is a law enforcing statutory body that regulates electronic communications in Gibraltar. GRA has various divisions that monitor and manage different sectors. The divisions are the electronic communications division, satellite division, data protection division, radio-communications & ICT division, administration division, and gambling division. GRA is the regulatory authority and national supervisory for all the sectors it covers.

Regulations and Rules

The purpose and goals of GRA include promoting data privacy and respect for information rights. Also, the regulatory body seeks to fairly regulate postal sectors and electronic communications so as to promote healthy competitive practices. Furthermore, GRA seeks to promote and protect the rights and interests of users in these sectors. Some recent developments in the statutory jurisdiction of GRA include the extended responsibilities in gambling and data protection governance.

Registration Process

GRA ensures that all persons can make enquiries about anything relating to licensing on their online portal. The organisation provides contacts, email address, and working hours for their land-based office. You can walk in any time between 9am and 5pm, Monday to Friday. Taking the example of gambling commission licensing, you can easily apply for a licence online.

First, you need to identify the type of licence your business needs. Second, you should pay the applicable registration fee. Also, it’s mandatory that you attach certain documents in your application, so it’s advisable that you first secure these documents. Remember that the documents you attach vary depending on the type of gambling licence. Licence registration documents fall into a number of categories, which are the operator identity documents, policy documents, financial documents, and documents showing key business people.

Types of Casino Licenses

GRA offers numerous different types of licences under its six main divisions. In the gambling division, the regulatory body issues seven different types of licences to online gambling operators. The different types of licences the body provides include bookmakers, pools promoters, betting intermediary, gaming operator, gaming machine, remote gambling, and lottery promoter’s licences. Gambling operators must follow strict requirements before obtaining a licence.

Also, the GRA investigates suitability and eligibility of applicants beforehand. Different types of licences dictate the code of practice that all licensees must follow. Additionally, licensees must adhere to certain data protection procedures and advertising guidelines. For example, some rules a bookmaker must follow include transparency, anti-money laundering, and customer protection rules. Furthermore, this type of licence demands that the gambling operator must be located and managed in Gibraltar.

Responsible Gambling Online

Responsible gaming, just like corporate social responsibility, focuses on upholding high operating standards and safety precautions. If your favourite gambling operator observes responsible gaming, it means that you’re almost certainly safe from money laundering and rough gamblers out there trying to exploit people. Some crucial responsible gaming areas connected to the e-Gambling industry include protection of players and gamblers, online payment protection, data protection, underage gambling prevention, and ethical marketing.

Responsible gaming is necessary because of the numerous gaming problems that most people are not aware of. For instance, e-Gambling inquiries to internet gaming addiction, whereby underage gamblers get the worst hit. Usually, underage persons may lack the capability to control their gambling habits as easily as adults would, in turn leading to early internet addictions.